Welcome Guest   | Login   
  Search  
  Index |  Recent Threads |  Register | 


Quick Go »
Thread Status: Normal
Total posts in this thread: 10
[Change thread status] [Delete this Thread] [Move this Thread]
[Add To My Favorites] [Watch this Thread] [Post new Thread]
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 866 times and has 9 replies Next Thread
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Thread]

Hi.

I have just installed the calendar on my website. However, my website has 2 languages. English and French. Although this calendar can be set to display different languages, is there a way to have 2 calendars, one English and one French feeding off the same calendar feed? Or do I need to create 2 seperate calendars?

Thanks for an answer, and great calendar by the way! I used Dayhaps in the past, and have to say, that compared to this one, it is pretty rubbish :)

Thanks again.

Kent.
[Oct 22, 2014, 4:26:14 PM] [90.0.181.8] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 5964
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi Kent,

This is an interesting use case, and one which we have not heard before.
I am afraid you would need to have 2 calendars at this time. The good news is, you could merge the events from one calendar onto another (with at least a Premium Basic subscription) so at least you would not need to maintain the events 2x (unless you want to enter different event descriptions/translations on each calendar)
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Oct 24, 2014, 7:53:49 PM] [24.189.166.198] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi and thanks for the reply. Yes, I figured that out shortly after I posted this question, and set this up and it works perfectly. Thanks again for that reply and have a great weekend!

Kent.
[Nov 8, 2014, 4:51:55 PM] [90.0.64.167] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi again Marc.

I have just discovered that, although I have set the 2 calendars up exactly the same using frames on both the UK and French pages, when looking at the French one on an iPhone the calendar is in fact not fitting into the iframe correctly.

Here are the links to both:

UK (fitting correctly) - http://www.ripitencore.com/calendar.html
French (not fitting correctly) - http://www.ripitencore.com/fr/calendrier.html

In an iPad everything is OK, but on all versions of iPhone the French one doesn’t fit.

Is there anything I have overlooked?

Thanks again.

Kind regards.

Kent.
[Nov 9, 2014, 2:07:13 PM] [90.0.187.253] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

OK. I have figured out where the problem is. Once I changed the calendar language to English everything fitted correctly. I then switched back to French and the problem came back. So, the bug is within the French language setting found in the options tab.

Would you have any idea when this will be fixed?

Thanks again and kind regards. Kent.
[Nov 10, 2014, 2:52:37 PM] [90.0.187.253] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 5964
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

The size of the calendar is constant regardless of language. But it is the case that because of some translation issues where words are different lengths, the minimum size the calendar can be reduced to varies? I think that is what you have noticed.

There isn't a solution we can think of right now, except to consider that the min size required may vary depending on language, and to make some extra wiggle-room in your design to accommodate it.
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Nov 10, 2014, 8:12:29 PM] [24.189.166.198] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi again.

I started getting the ads this morning, so I upgraded to the premium subscription. This removed the ads from my english calendar. But, as I had to install 2 calendars on the same site (the second one in French as our site is in 2 languages) and merge this to the first one to keep the entries, the second calendar is still showing the ads and actually making use of the calendar impossible as the arrows disappear.

Will I need to upgrade this too and pay another 9,99 USD, or can this be overcome somehow? Calender in questions is ripitencore2 .

Thanks.

Kind regards. Kent
[Nov 24, 2014, 11:41:13 AM] [90.0.66.186] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 5964
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi Kent,

Yes, subscriptions are per account, so you would need additional ones for each of your calendars.

We work very diligently to make sure ads do not affect the rendering of the calendar so I am concerned to read your issue regarding the arrows. Could you share a link to your page with the published calendar so I could take a snapshot?
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Nov 25, 2014, 3:53:23 PM] [24.189.166.198] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
Ripitencore
New Member



Joined: Oct 22, 2014
Posts: 6
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi Marc.

Here is a copy I have uploaded this morning, as I’m now using just one calendar now in English. Really don’t want to pay 2 subscriptions for the same website for just having the luxury of French days and months...

http://www.ripitencore.com/calendartest.html

Let me know once you have got what you need so I can remove it form our website.

Thanks again.

Kind regards. Kent.
[Dec 1, 2014, 10:06:53 AM] [90.0.70.170] Show Post Printable Version    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 5964
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Two calendar languages - One calendar? Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Ah; I see you are using the iframe include style, which will generally clip past a certain size rather than dynamically resize. If you haven't noticed already, your calendar is also being cut off at the bottom because of the iframe.

There are also minimum sizes on the calendar boxes themselves for legibility which you may be bumping up against.

I would suggest changing the way you have included your calendar to use the "Fully interactive embedded calendar" style on our Publish Wizard. It might scale a little more effectively (and it will definitely display at the proper height automatically)
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by support at Dec 2, 2014, 4:56:26 PM]
[Dec 2, 2014, 4:55:56 PM] [First IP: 24.189.166.198 - Last IP: 24.189.166.198] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
[Show Thread Printable Version] [Post new Thread]

Help! | Cobranding | Legal | Privacy Policy | About localendar.com | Contact Us