Welcome Guest   | Login   
  Search  
  Index |  Recent Threads |  Register | 


Quick Go »
Thread Status: Normal
Total posts in this thread: 10
[Change thread status] [Delete this Thread] [Move this Thread]
[Add To My Favorites] [Watch this Thread] [Post new Thread]
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 373 times and has 9 replies Next Thread
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 6027
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Thread]

Since we're about the only place on the 'net that wasn't supporting Google Maps, we figured it was high time we added it smile

You may now add a street address to individual events, or if most of your events happen at the same place, you can add a common location under Options->Events (this value will be shown unless you specify a different location on the event itself)

On the "Event Detail" popup window, visitors will now discover a link to view the location on a Google Map. The map includes links for getting directions and a small Google toolbar in the lower-left (for finding other stuff located nearby - like food or a hotel).
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Jul 6, 2009, 7:19:31 PM] [67.86.148.33] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
bladetek
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Canada
Joined: Sep 4, 2005
Posts: 41
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Very nice feature; however I have found the resulting map page that opens to be SUPER restrictive.

Examples: the newly opened map page
a. has no left panel display
b. has no scroll bars
c. has no labels if/when satelite view is selected

I do believe the default for Google Maps when one enters an address includes all of the above.

I do not understand why Localendar went to the trouble to make this VERY NICE option so restrictive?

sad
[Jul 16, 2009, 10:24:45 AM] [142.161.84.96] Show Post Printable Version    www.blade-tek.com    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 6027
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

You should have the left display for the zoom in/out functionality. Are you not seeing it?

As for scrollbars, Google maps never have them since you just click and drag to move the map around.

You should also have labels on either the satellite/hybrid views. Perhaps you can point me to an event on your calendar to look at?
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Jul 17, 2009, 12:36:20 PM] [67.86.148.33] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
bladetek
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Canada
Joined: Sep 4, 2005
Posts: 41
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Sure. I have a multiple day event logged for Sep 09.
Date range 31 Aug - 6 Sep 09)

Calendar This is the web page with the embeded calendar.

Event Name = Hockey Canada Cup

I may be missing sommething, but I cannot seem to bring up any labels for the satelite view ? ?

Thanks for taking a peek. confused
[Jul 21, 2009, 1:21:42 AM] [142.161.91.199] Show Post Printable Version    www.blade-tek.com    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
bladetek
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Canada
Joined: Sep 4, 2005
Posts: 41
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

"mea culpa, mea culpa" regarding the scroll bars.

I was thinking about the scrolling within the left panel . . . which doesn't come up with the localendar map link.

Maybe its a good thing, as I often find myself globe trotting in search of the proverbial topless sunbather !! biggrin
[Jul 21, 2009, 1:35:25 AM] [142.161.91.199] Show Post Printable Version    www.blade-tek.com    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 6027
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Forget the labels for a second.. the basic rendering of your calendar (which I tested under FF 3) seems messed up for some reason. I'm going to try and figure that out first...

[Edit] OK - Fixed. The problem resulted from an annoying confluence of items : Firefox, the M4 view, and the special transition effect you were using. We've taken care of it and pushed a patch out there. Now I can look at your other map questions smile
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by support at Jul 22, 2009, 10:26:21 PM]
[Jul 22, 2009, 3:46:44 PM] [First IP: 171.161.160.10 - Last IP: 67.86.148.33] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
avhfh
New Member



Joined: Jan 18, 2006
Posts: 4
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

But it doesn't work. I'm in Arkansas 72903 and the map took me to Oklahoma. Can't you help?
[Aug 21, 2009, 11:52:04 AM] [72.18.34.72] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 6027
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

The location is auto-geocoded by Google. So if you go to http://maps.google.com and enter a location, that's the same one used by the location field on localendar.com

I would suggest testing your location out on Google and finding a text description that works, then copying that into the field on the Event Editor.

I entered "Arkansas 72903" into the location field on a test event, and the map took me just outside the Fort Smith regional airport.
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Aug 22, 2009, 10:07:47 PM] [12.53.206.2] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
PartnershipCC
New Member



Joined: Jun 3, 2009
Posts: 14
Status: Offline

Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Hi,

I love the location feature!

I was wondering if you could rename the "location" field to something more explanitory. My smaller town submitters keep putting some thing like "the library" into the field which of course Google has no idea where that is.

Something like "event address" or "street, city, zip" would be excellent.

Thanks!
[Aug 26, 2009, 1:34:09 PM] [216.163.200.211] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
support
localendar Expert
Member's Avatar


Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 6027
Status: Offline
Edit this Post   Re: Add Location information for Events Reply to this Post
Reply with Quote
[Delete this Post]

Sounds like a good idea smile
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news
[Aug 27, 2009, 11:29:13 PM] [67.86.148.33] Show Post Printable Version [Link] Report threatening post: please login first  Go to top 
[Show Thread Printable Version] [Post new Thread]

Help! | Cobranding | Legal | Privacy Policy | About localendar.com | Contact Us