localendar Forums Homepage

Print at Jun 20, 2018, 4:55:14 PM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by OPwebmaster at Jul 3, 2015, 5:09:33 AM
Pop-up Windows in various browsers
I know from previous threads that you have a 'standard' pop-up window size.

But I find that this standard size (whatever that is) seems to be overridden by a browser's own settings.

For example, Firefox, Chrome & Opera 12 display a Pop-up window width of 400 px. Pale Moon has a width of 600 px. IE 10 has a full page width.

How does the browser override your standard pop-up size?

If I enter the resize code you list in thread=2902#8125, will the browsers override it as well?


Harry

Posted by support at Jul 4, 2015, 9:05:38 PM
Re: Pop-up Windows in various browsers
Browsers shouldn't be able to override the size. Interesting that you are seeing that behavior.

Are you talking about the Event Detail popup, or some other window?

It's also possible that if a window was resized at some point, those browsers might remember the "new" size and preserve that (you can resize again to test).

We'll do some double-checking on our side as well.
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news

Posted by OPwebmaster at Jul 5, 2015, 5:03:20 AM
Re: Pop-up Windows in various browsers
Marc:

I see it two ways. First, on the Calendar itself, when I click an event to get a popup.

And second, when I have the Edit Event screen on My Calendar open, and click Preview.

Regarding browser resizing. I just resized a popup window in Chrome. But as soon as I closed the popup and opened it again, it reverted back to the previous size. In IE, since it is full screen, I cannot find a way to resize it to test.



Harry

Posted by support at Jul 11, 2015, 2:31:32 AM
Re: Pop-up Windows in various browsers
From what I have found online, pop-up sizes should not be remembered.
There is a fix for IE6 (!!) that re-sizes the window after it is opened. I'm going to see if we can make a test page and ask you to check that workaround on your instance of IE10

I should mention we don't see this internally on IE10, but this workaround is low-impact if it works so we would probably incorporate it going forward.
----------------------------------------
Marc Higgins
Support Associate, localendar.com
Follow us on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/localendar_news


Help! | Cobranding | Legal | Privacy Policy | About localendar.com | Contact Us